Tindalls Cottage, an early 18th century husbandman's home from Ticehurst, East Sussex will take its place among the Weald and Downland Open Air Museum's historic building exhibits on 22/23 September, at a special public event – Raising the Frame' – the first timber-frame raising for some years.
Tindalls Cottage was dismantled in 1974 as a result of the construction of the Bewl Water Reservoir, near Ticehurst in East Sussex and has been in store at the Museum since that time. The cottage is timber framed with a large stone and brick chimney and contains two rooms on each floor plus an attic. It dates from the late 17th or early 18th century and would have been typical of many cottages which can still be found in this part of the High Weald.
When completed, the interpretation of the cottage will include its furnishings and the surrounding garden and curtilage, providing visitors, including school groups, with a greater understanding of this period of building and social history. Dr Danae Tankard, the Museum's historian, has uncovered fascinating information about the cottage and its occupants: the interpretation will be set during the period of occupancy of the first John Tindall who was living in the cottage from 1748.
Tindalls derives its name from the surname of the Tindalls who occupied the cottage from 1748 to 1806. Almost all of the timber in the house had been used before which meant that the cottage was initially thought much older than it actually is. It is a challenge to imagine the living conditions for the John Tindall who lived there from 1780 until his death in 1806. He and his wife Mary had seven children in the house at one time and also looked after the illegitimate son of his daughter Ann and took in two further parish children.
Find out more about farm buildings in the High Weald.